Taumata 2017-07-06T15:14:11+00:00

The ANZEA Taumata

The Taumata was established as a means to recognize people in Aotearoa who have made significant contributions to the evaluation profession and/or to the context of evaluation practice. It was also seen as a way to provide the ANZEA Board with both sound advice and guidance and an additional level of accountability to the ANZEA membership and to the wider community. For additional information on the purposes, structure, functions and operations of the Taumata, click here.


Taumata Members

Dr Neville Robertson.

Neville was nominated by Heather Hamerton, Ruth Hungerford and Bridgette Masters. He has made outstanding contributions to the development of evaluation in Aotearoa that were acknowledged by his appointment to the ANZEA Taumata.

Neville is a Senior Lecturer in Psychology at the University of Waikato and for many years the Convenor of the Post-Graduate Diploma in Community Psychology. He has taught and contributed to a graduate paper in evaluation in New Zealand for 25 years, supervising and mentoring many graduate students over that period. He has also made important contributions to promoting the use of formative evaluation in New Zealand.

A biography with more detail of Neville’s contributions to evaluation is available here, and more information about Neville’s work is available at http://www.waikato.ac.nz/wfass/staff/psyc/scorpio

Neville was formally welcomed to the Taumata at a pōwhiri at the ANZEA Conference 2012 in Hamilton, on 10 July.


Two founding members  – Ian Trotman and Robin Peace.

Ian Trotman was nominated by Rachael Trotman, Kate McKegg and Maggie Jakob-Hoff, and Dr. Robin Peace was nominated by Kate Averill, Robyn Bailey, Michael Blewden, Iain Matheson, Heather Nunns, Mathea Roorda, Rae Torrie, Paula White and Vicki Wilde.

Ian and Robin have both made outstanding contributions to the development of evaluation in Aotearoa that are being acknowledged by their appointments to the ANZEA Taumata.

Ian was an early leader in developing evaluation practice and culture in New Zealand. He was one of the founders of the Wellington Evaluation Group, which was the first professional evaluation body in New Zealand, and he was also instrumental in the founding of the Auckland Evaluation Group shortly afterwards. Following his retirement, Ian has continued to be used as an expert on the history of evaluation in New Zealand. Ian’s contributions to evaluation in Australasia were recognised in 2003 in his appointment as an inaugural Fellow of the Australasian Evaluation Society. A biography with more detail of Ian’s achievements is available to view here. Ian’s inauguration address can be read here.

Robin  is an Associate Professor at Massey University’s Wellington campus. With the support of colleagues, she established the University’s Post-Graduate Diploma in Social Sciences Evaluation Research – the first graduate qualification in evaluation in New Zealand. From the initial programme concept, Robin developed the components of the programme, which she has taught over the past four years, involving more than 30 students and now including three doctoral students. Robin’s inauguration address can be read here, her biography is also available to view here and further information about her achievements is available at http://www.massey.ac.nz/massey/learning/departments/school-people-environment-planning/staff/robin-peace.cfm

The ANZEA Board looks forward to working with Ian, Robin and Neville to further develop the functions and membership of the Taumata and discuss the Taumata’s involvement in other ANZEA developments.

Ian Trotman and Robin Peace

Ian Trotman and Robin Peace

Robin Peace with some of her nominors

Robin Peace with some of her nominors

Ian Trotman with some of his nominors

Ian Trotman with some of his nominors